Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2020-12-11 - 9:54 a.m.

10 Years ... or ... Beware The Uneven Yoke

It would have been ten years of marriage today. We had planned to take a trip to Hawaii on the 10th anniversary, but I know we would not be doing that. Oh, no. We'd be in debt forty stories over our heads if he had continued unchecked, and probably in therapy to try to save the marriage when I went ballistic over being told the debt was my fault due to an inflated grocery bill.

Yes, he always said that. While he and his son ate like 3 men apiece. lol.

He was a good man, though. A kind man who did his best.

Although it DOES cross my mind that I thought I had it all handled; …"Ooo! Got me a man who works and does his best to support the family, this is gonna work out fine! All those gals who marry up and then end up living in a lovely home with high ceilings, thick granite countertops, wood floors and floor-to-ceiling windows...yessiree, that's me, any second now!"

Instead, he spent every solitary dime he had and then went to work on mine, getting me firmly into debt that I am STILL paying my way out of. I have no money saved as a result, and so cannot get a conventional loan which leaves my offer undesirable compared to those who have down payment money and conventional loan eligibility...so I'm counting fully on God to hook me up. I'm working, and I am in MUCH better shape than many, so this is only a partial whine. More a warning for my perhaps-reader: be careful when you yoke yourself. Don't be hasty. Watch them, know their history, KNOW THEIR DEBT, know their potential to derail your whole life with THEIR bad choices. Do not move in haste when it comes to matters of yoking yourself.

Yoke: tie to, obligate to.

That said, I'll say again: he was a very good man. Everyone has their faults, and I have PUHLENTY. He was worth any trouble I experienced.


free hit counter

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!