Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2022-05-14 - 4:24 p.m.

Ramblinnramblin ramblin rambling rammmmm BLIN

It is a glorious day in the Ozarks. The sky is blue breeze is cool my flowers are all blooming around me. Nothing is expected of me today. My daughter has some crazy ideas about organizing the garage because she is a minimalist neat freak, but I have a doctorate in loafing, and I will not be doing that today.

I've been sick for the last few days some sort of scratchy throat, cough, stuffy head sort of situation. Of course the band didn't care and wanted me to make the gig anyway and, feeling better than I had the two days prior, I did. A good time, though a challenge. I belted out all my songs without incident and I actually think the hoarseness added a little bit of an edge to my voice that I rather liked. Anyway, it probably wasn't the healthiest thing I could have done to my vocal cords, but you do what you gotta do. People seem to have a really good time. Our set list is a pleaser every time. We do need to freshen it up though, and have added some new songs...but we have work to do. We have an '80s gig coming up on the 21st. I'm wondering if I should go whole hog and empty a can of white rain on my head that day. I know I can make big hair. It's like riding a bicycle. Plus, I am a hot roller aficionado and pretty much go around with half-size, huge hair anyway. What's another size up? So we've been adding in a lot of 80 songs, and that's a lot of fun. Funny how a song that you never really even liked when you were younger, can make you feel good. I guess just going back in your brain to a time when your thighs didn't jiggle is a pleasure, any way you slice it.

I haven't seen the effects of the food shortages yet. Not to any serious degree, anyway. My garden is in and it is very big this year. I have a lovely little patch of sugar snap peas, cleverly planted into a salvaged shelf which I turned sideways and filled with soil. Resourceful, pioneer woman, me. I have six eggplant, one clutch of red skin potatoes, two large bags of Yukon gold potatoes, a couple of spare potatoes that sprouted in the pantry in separate bags, six Arkansas traveler tomato plants, three beefsteak tomato plants that my father started, three different cherry tomato plants including one yellow pear, I have a large patch of bush beans which I know will produce much, as the last two seasons I've only grown 13 plants and have had plenty of beans. Now I have 50. It's going to be a bean-o-rama. I've got about 15 squash plants with an even split of zucchini, yellow straightneckk and crookneck squash. I have multiple radishes planted all over the yard in a couple different varieties, multiple carrots, both rainbow and dwarf or, as I like to call them, choade...LOL. They're short n' fat. Six brussel sprouts plants, three bell pepper plants in three different colors, two Cayenne peppers, four kale plants, several lettuce, and arugula patch planted in a gutter, and hung on the fence for maximum sunlight, and untold okra plants. I got seven started okra plants from the feed store, but then I germinated a handful of okra seeds and couldn't bear to throw any of them away. So I planted every single one and by golly they all came up. It is going to be an okra fiesta. I've got four cucumber plants and untold new cucumber plants which I seeded last weekend and are already up, a bucket of passion fruit Vines which have sprouted hallelujah (3 of em!) and a wide selection of herbs from mint, to parsley, basil, sage, thyme, oregano.. and I think today I'm going to see if I can get the dill seed in my pantry to grow. (it didn't) Right now it's for seasoning food but we'll see if it'll germinate. (it didn't)

I love gardening season. I bought all the unloved flowers from the clearance rack at the garden store and have been watering and babying them, repotting them and watching them spread out beautifully. It will be lovely here in just a little while and already is, as there are blossoms everywhere! Have a nice selection of creeping jenny that came up from last year which I managed to save and over-winter. Turns out you don't have to overwinter that stuff, you cannot kill it! And last weekend, when I went to Lowe's to treat myself to some dirt (I'm low maintenance) the man who helped load my dirt appreciated My Good humor such that he gave me a calla lily plant. Yes I realized that he had no business giving away the merchandise but I happily took it anyway. It is before me now with beautiful butter yellow cups all over it. It doesn't even look real.

I'm a happy sort. I definitely am counting my blessings.

I also planted a patch of elderberry. And a couple pots of cosmos. And multiple zinnias.

I decided to dictate this entry from my back porch using my phone. There are probably multiple typos in this entry which I will repair at a later time because I just don't have the energy to do it right now. This is my saturday, by gosh, and I am going to loaf. Even grammar has to take a back seat. But if you see anything dumb, it was my phone, and not me.


free hit counter

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!