Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-09-09 - 11:56 p.m.

DUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My kid is a nut. Of course, both my kids are funny little people, but my son...he's a bona fide whackjob. The boy is constantly trying to make me laugh, often getting in trouble trying. He'll go too far, or say the wrong thing, or just completely misjudge 'what's funny' altogether, earning himself a stern talking-to and sometimes even a cuff upside the head.

There's something he does, though, that just cripples me down: his genuine, helpless laughter. Just now, I was tucking him into bed and I brought with me a dollar I owed to him for a chore he'd done. I pinned the buck to his bulletin board with a triangular-shaped tack, and he hopped out of bed immediately, fussing about how he'd never be able to get the thing off the board due to the slope of the tack head and his useless, purchase-free fingertips. (They're devoid of nails because he mercilessly chews them)
The boy is a major wiseacre and I saw an opportunity for a taste of superiority, so I says, "Grab the dollar and pull, Einstein". He said, "Oh, yeah...", realizing how simple it all was, and he felt sheepish, so I capitalized on it by yawning open my trap and bellowing out a "Duh!" of epic proportion. I held said "Duh!" long enough for him to crane around and see my face, mouth stretched wide open and complection beet red from the effort of the mighty duh, and when he did see it, he lost it completely. He laughed SO hard. Naturally, I laughed, too...and then my wee one came from *her* bed and SHE laughed, too...and we all laughed in a group like that for a good long while, just like The Superfriends. Except we did it better, with more animation than just standing in a cluster shaking our shoulders. (Unrelated note: Seventies cartoons were a total rip-off.)

He said it was the stupidest thing he'd ever seen me do, and I'm going to bed a proud woman tonight.


free hit counter

7 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!