Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-11-06 - 10:47 p.m.

THE CAT IS PISSED

Today, I drove through traffic singing a jaunty tune called "People = Shit", covered oh-so-tastily by the incredible Richard Cheese, whom I deeply love.

Being a fan of both the large arrangement *and* kitschy lounge-singing, I was digging it entirely, when I suddenly wondered if surrounding cars at the red light could hear what was happening inside my vehicle. I instinctively grabbed the volume knob and jerked it down while pretending to have nothing to do with my own radio.

I worry about other's opinions too much. I worry about saying the wrong thing. Here's something I read today that made sense to me:

"When you step on your cat�s tail by accident, she does not grit her teeth and maintain an image of feminine decorum, now does she? No. She gets angry, hisses, bares her teeth ready to fight and kill, sticks out her claws and whacks you on the leg. She expresses her anger from the hurt you caused her, and her anger makes you stop hurting her. Survival! So, in only a matter of minutes, the relationship you have with your cat goes right back to healthy and normal."

Yeah, man. So, in a nutshell, I could wax poetic about that all the day, but I refuse to expose myself further. Apparently, any recent lashings-out were healthy, and remain standing.

Anger is a survival emotion, but unexpressed anger, as natural as crying or joy, becomes resentment, and resentment becomes bitterness. And I'm not having that...which in the long run is good for everyone involved.

I am, if anything, underestimated...and surely, somehow, that must be good.


free hit counter

2 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!