Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-06-12 - 7:01 p.m.

RAMBLINGS FROM WORK

I feel giddy and good. I feel like spending money. I feel like running off, giddy and good, and spending money. I�ll be getting my chance to do that very thing in four weeks and am MORE than looking forward to it. I�m suppressing a wild urge to run, just cash in and GO GO GO right now, responsibilities be damned! I REALLY need a vacation.
Yessir.

I�ve got an appointment tomorrow and I fully intend to cajole the good doctor into prescribing me a bit of Valium so that I might calmly board the plane without upsetting my kids. Somehow I�ve managed to develop quite a severe plane problem. I�m not liking the idea of flying at ALL. I don�t know how I got this way; my family was military and I�ve flown plenty, but it stopped when I moved to Louisiana in 1982. I haven�t flown since. Somewhere around the birth of my first child I realized that flying isn�t something I�d want to have to do. I�ve even had a couple of dreams wherein I realize I�m in line to board a plane, and I begin to panic. I�ve had that dream at least twice in the last decade, and although that doesn�t seem like much, you�ll notice that it was terrifying enough to me to be remembered very clearly after all these years. I don�t normally have nightmares.

I know the statistics. I know my fear is baseless and silly. And still, I�d rather suck a mouse than get on the plane.

Thank you, God, for Mother�s Little Helper�and God, please make him give me several so I don�t have to white-knuckle it.

Egad. I'm spooked.





free hit counter

8 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!