Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-05-19 - 7:35 a.m.

THE HORROR

I feel like doo doo, baby.

I have been sick for three days, and I feels me some bad, yeah. I find myself feeling very hostile that my illnesses are brushed off by my superior at work...I am encouraged to come in anyway, always, regardless of how bad I feel. I am made even angrier by the fact that I follow the directive without argument and show up like a fucking sheep when it is perfectly within me to say, No, dude, I'm NOT coming in, much like YOU don't come in when YOU don't feel well. I just don't. I always think I will need to save that for a day when I need it more. And anyway, I'm a deejay, for crying out loud. It's not brain surgery, and when it's time to talk I sound just as well and chipper as I do on a good day. But I'm still irked.

Even when I manage to score a day off, I still have to keep my children's schedules...so there's really no rest in it. My oldest, though, has been getting increasingly more helpful. Yesterday, he "took care of me" as I lay trying to die with a head full of goo, frequent onslaughts of helpless sneezing, a raging fever, pounding headache and an increasingly sore (and now virtually skin-free) set of nostrils. He kept an eye on his little sister so I could sort of drift in and out of consciousness, he piled covers on me to try to help me get warm, and, at one point, he brought in a cup of hot peppermint tea that he made for me. I love my boy. I was sure to compliment him on his treatment of me; I think the pampering made me feel that much better. I am a person who appreciates that kind of thing, and it's been a while since it's been done. I'm raising a good kid, even if he is prone to spontaneous, embarrassing, gyrating nipple dances.

So I had a guest at my house. I can't remember if I told him about this diary or not, so I can't go into too much detail but let's just say you haven't lived until you've witnessed a full grown man dancing and singing badly while drunkenly and vigorously playing air guitar to HIS OWN COLLECTION of Rick Springfield cd's. Yes, that's what I said. I remember saying "Wow" a lot, and Wilberteets was more than amused. Egad. It was the kind of performance that makes you never want to drink again.
Did you get the part about how he had his own Rick Springfield cd's? I had an audioslave cd on, and he actually said, "I have better music than this". BETTER MUSIC THAN AUDIOSLAVE, AND HE PUT ON RICK SPRINGFIELD. Now don't get me wrong, I loved Rick, and I value Rick. But not an hour of Rick. Not in 2006. If you're reading this, Dan, (and Rick) I'm sorry. You know you're the dearest of old friends, but that was one hell of a display.

Ok, I feel like shite.

I do NOT want to go today and I am going to purposely be as useless as possible.

Oh, my aching, bald nostrils. ::sigh::


free hit counter

6 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!