Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2022-04-02 - 8:51 p.m.

This Entry Is Dirty

I'm about to be planting and I'm diggin it. (nyuk) I'm excited about my garden plans. Spring was hard won this year. We lived through the "Winter of Severe Illness and Death" **insert hard eye roll** and now it's time to work the dirt.

I've made more beds and I've gone to the trouble of mixing my own garden soil. It's a hassle but ultimately, it's less expensive and that's good because I'm going to need a lot of dirt. I'm making use of every single, properly sunlit space this year. Today I attached a gutter to my fence and filled with soil, it'll grow lettuces, herbs and maybe a couple of pretty flowers here and there for color. But I could also use it, with jute strung on the fence boards to grow a climbing thing, like cucumbers or maybe even peas! But, is a gutter-full of soil, enough for that? I'll find that out before I plant anything. I'm going to grow squash and zucchini again, and by the beard of Zeus, this time I'll not lose them to squash borers! I have a diabolical plan that involves injecting the plant with a little something extra to spice the food for the borer, making my plant it's final meal. Organic gardening warfare, baby.

I have a shiitake log that'll start producing soon. It's also time to hunt morels! I've planted Yukon golds in bags and have red potatoes to plant, too. I've got plans for all manner of herb and veggie in my beds. I would love to have a tilled soil garden, but the rocks are insane! I might dig a couple beds anyway. I sure won't be buying any lumber; thank goodness I did all that last year. I'm now planning the layout of what goes where, keeping in mind which plants grow harmoniously together. I haven't sown any seed (except the potatoes) nor bought any started plants yet, because I know a frost is still to come. I'd be so sorely tempted to get out there and plant some stuff, that I wouldn't trust myself to wait out the cold.

I'm happy about growing things. :)


free hit counter

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!