Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-04-08 - 7:55 a.m.

LAND OF THE LOSS

Well shit.


My heart's all broken today. My fat, delicious, funny, unique, irreplacable, cuter-than-any-I've-ever-seen, way-too-young-to-die, sweet, pink-toed, kung-fu-grip havin' Posh kitty died a wretched and awful death. A wretched and PREVENTABLE death. He was, in essence, killed by his veterinarian. It was absolute ass, and it broke my heart down about as far as it can go, barring a human loss.

Loss is the theme this morning. Soon after I got the kids off to school, a rumbling grew outside the house...it was the dual cherrypicker trucks of the Tree Killers. We have a dangerous tree, a huge, enooooooooooormous, sweetgum tree looming over our house. Due to it's incredible size, it's become a danger to us. We worry when the winds blow...there are gargantuan limbs poised to crash through our roof...so we contracted it's removal in October of last year. They only just showed up to take it down. The chainsaws are buzzing and the laborers are hollering to each other, joking and laughing and doing their rednecky thing as they drag out the dropping limbs and chunks of the prettiest tree in the neighborhood.

Let's expound on that. This is a beautiful tree. It's gorgeous. Bright green with new leaves now, and rich with all the colors of fall when the season changes. It does ALL the colors...it doesn't choose just one. This tree is the biggest tree in the neighborhood, stately and sprawling and just lovely. Home to God knows how many birds. I really hate that. I hope they're not knocking helpless baby birds out of their nests. ...Anyway. It's a beautiful tree and it hurts my feelings that they're killing it out there. I'll rest easier when the wind blows...but I wish there had been another way. It's not only a danger to us, it's jacking up the foundation of our house. The walls split at the corners in every room on one side. Tree needs to go...but it is still sad. I'm sorry, big pretty tree. Were there another route, I'd have taken it.

I'm ready for some ...gaining. Money, pets, my favorite foliage...all gone out the window. I'm ready for some winning now. Ready for the happy, the go and the lucky. Can I get a recoup, please?

That's it. I'm getting a kitten. A kitten will fix EVERYTHING.


free hit counter

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!