Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-08-11 - 8:38 a.m.

FOUR???? WHY FOUR???

I'm dreading something.

Tomorrow, I have to take my wee little four year old to receive FOUR shots, two in each tiny leg, in order for her to begin kindergarten. They are required; there is no escape. You cannot refuse unless you're a Jehovah's Witness, and I am not willing to go so far as to fake a religion to avoid this.

I hate it because she is soooooo afraid of shots. She, of course, has no idea what's in store, and she won't. I'm not gonna tell her a thing, because she'd be in so much worse a state if she knew. I think I'll give her a little headset radio to wear so she can't hear the other kids screaming their heads off while we wait our turn. I will postpone the reality as long as is humanly possible.

I feel so awful about it that my mind keeps going back to it, mulling the dread. This is the part where I wish I had a partner, someone to go along and support ME while I toss my baby to the needle weilding nurses who are going to jab her not once, but four times.

Being the only parent is hard. I woudn't trade, but damn. I sho' hate it (right now).

Okay. Whine's out. Feel better. Thanks.


free hit counter

4 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!