Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-06-05 - 11:23 p.m.

THE PERFECT DAY

Saturday was a perfect day.

I went to work early, and came home a few hours later loaded with supplies to make the rest of the day pass most comfortably. Ground chuck. Soft burger buns. Huge bottle of red wine. Fresh citrus fruits. Captain Morgan. A new, summery beverage pitcher. Big bag of ice. Inflatable swimming pool. Footie-squeezie-air-pump-thingie for hyperventilation-free pool inflation. Awww, yeah.
I had a beautiful day and big plans, people. Big plans.
The kids dug on the pool. Blessedly, that translated into them leaving me alone for a while, which, in case you didn't know, is my greatest fantasy. There was screeching and yelling all right, but it all happened on the side of the french doors that I was NOT on, and was muffled enough to not ruin my joy. While they frolicked, I went about the happy task of combining the hooch and fruit to create the most appealing and delicious sangria I've ever had. Oh, but I was proud of it. It was mixed perfectly and presented most beautifully with lots of thin, cross-sectioned slices of orange, lemon and lime floating in it. Lovely in the new pitcher, lovelier in the new glasses, and loveliest of all sloshing down my lily white neck all the day. Ahhhhhhh, sangria. *smack*

Just when the day began to broil came the high-pitched, child-alarming strains of the ice cream man's hellbox, errr, music box, and the kids busted it pel-mel as if their very lives depended on getting a badly maintained and overpriced treat out of that rickety (and somewhat sinister looking) van. I knew the ice cream man's wares were not worth the money. I knew one of my kids is getting porky. Still, I couldn't bring myself to refuse the chillerns the ice cream man experience, however crummy, on such a day. It was simply the perfect conditions under which to waste two-fifty on crap ice cream from a rusty van that plays The Sting over and over until you want to riddle it with bullets.

The ice cream turned out to be pretty good, I guess, as the dynamic duo sat next to each other and ate it happily, without the first plaintive whine or slapfight. The little one, seen above grimacing and wallowing with delight, had a "Mario", the ugliest thing ever, crafted of white and red sherbet with a (yucky, melty, sticky) gumball for a nose. It's supposed to look like the video game guy and you couldn't have paid me to eat it. Little Bee thought it was swell, though, as you can see. Witness the rapture.

Five seconds after this picture was taken, the remains of Mario fell off the stick and plopped onto the porch.

It was a great day. It was the kind of day when I was able to sit back and survey my situation and know that it is good. I do things just the way I want to these days. It suits me. I don't have to look to another person for my happiness, which is good 'cause other people generally screw things up.

Might just have to whoop up another batch of sangria on that note.


free hit counter

4 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!