Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-07-26 - 5:43 p.m.

ROSEMARY'S JINGLE

I�m a jingle whore, and now it�s come back to haunt me. Here�s the deal: In addition to being a deejay, I make commercials for a living. When it's a jingle, my company charges a big production fee and I get $200. I make good stuff the majority of the time, but every now and then, I turn out a piece of utter shit which then haunts and humiliates me for the length of it's run. I *suffer*.

Yeah, I get concerned when I know I'm turning myself into an object of scorn. Thing is...I don't seem to see how unacceptable the commercial (or hideous, hideous jingle) is until it's way too late. I get in a hurry to produce *something* just to please the salesperson and client and get the order out of the "in" box and into the "out"...and then I hear the shameful bit of undeniable crap on the radio and I cringe. HARD. I shrink in stature. I curse myself and shrivel with shame.

And I did it�for 200 dollars. Gah.

I�m at work, drawing a doodle of an elf on somebody�s belated birthday card when over the speakers came the first word and a half of the latest hideous abomination-in-song which I have birthed. I wrote it, I sang it, and it S-U-C-K-S...and the suck-ass ones always end up running FOREVER. Sheesh.

I have GOT to be more discerning about what I am willing to do for $200.


free hit counter

12 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!