Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-08-12 - 2:26 a.m.

I LOVE STUFF


Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, way past midnight.


This is the only time I have to myself...wayyyyyyy past midnight on a Sunday morning. My folks will arrive to take my spawn to church tomorrow morning, so my 11 year old night owl, who's been milking every vacation night for all it's worth, is forced to go to bed. Listen to how quiet it is...the only sounds the hum of the air conditioner, the slups of the dog licking her paws, and the clacky sound of the keys on this cheap keyboard. I love it. I am looking forward to school starting, so I'll have much more of this marvelous, silent, me time. It happens next Thursday. Happy happy, joy joy.

I love sunsets. I'm a sucker for colorful display, what can I say. Tonight, there was a giant, poofy, white cloud covering the sky above me that I looked up and discovered as I walked into our local grocery store, and I knew it would be great when sunset happened a few moments later. Man, was I right. The sunset cast this huge cloud a deep orange, which in turn cast everything ELSE orange...and then pink...and then...pink-errrr...it was beautiful. Here's a picture of the big fat cloud, the best my phone-cam could do to capture it...(not anywhere near good enough, doesn't do it justice...but here's a look at it along with the pink cast on everything). I realized, just now, upon checking this entry, that all my pictures are sideways. HAHAHAHAHAHA...I'm sorry. I suck SO much, I'm LEAVING them sideways, because there is no way I'm uploading them all again at this hour. Fuggabaggathat. I realize it's both lame and lazy of me, but I don't care. Tilt your head. I'm sleepy.






That kind of sight doesn't go unappreciated in my world. It's one of those things that make me happy. I stood out in it for quite a while, after I unloaded my groceries. It made me wish there was a block party going on, but the street was strangely quiet for 8pm on a Saturday night. Anyway...the color of the sunset thrilled me to the fur. Got any of those? Things that give you a little shot of happy whenever you see them? I have several. Mine are...odd...but I'll share some anyway.

Berries on the vine. I love how they look, feel, taste. I went berry-wild recently, picking blueberries in numbers I cannot possibly eat in under three months, largely because I just love how it looks to find a branch weighted down with fat, juicy bursts of sweet-tart-tasty-unparalleled-God-Made-It. Natural things make me nuts.


Rocks that could potentially hold fossils. As in...pea gravel. Yes, I'm a tard, but I'm a tard who's a big fan of hunting for fossils, arrowheads, pretty pieces of agate...I am easily entertained. A really good metal detector and a good place to find more than bottle caps would rock my socks off. So, yeah, I like pea-gravel, because it has lots and lots of tiny fossils in it, and I can find them faster than you can say Bob's Your Uncle.

Clover. Clover tempts me so much, I have pulled over before to peruse it in search of 4 leaf clover...which, given the time, I almost always find. I have a knack, an eye, a talent...whatever...I have found a LOT of four leaf clovers in my day. When I see a patch of clover, I want IN it. I love to find four-leafers and give them away. People are always so pleased by them, and it seems they always say, "I've never found one of these!" Is no one else looking?


Eggs. I like how they look, how they feel and what they are. Especially the brown ones. I like to touch 'em, pick them up, feel them, weigh them in my hands. I like eggs.

Blank paper and a black, fine-tip pen. There's just too much that can be done with that combo, and I love to see it. Sometimes I buy that for myself, just for a pick-me-up. A nice number 2 pencil can replace the pen, so long as it has a nice sized eraser on it, and a good, healthy tip of lead.

My silver Celtic knot rings, and my cell phone. I like stuff that's heavy, compact, made of metal. These fit that criteria. I've always liked stuff like that. Raw magnets, too. Not kitschy fridge magnets, just plain black hunks of magnet. Don't ask why, because I don't know. I just dig 'em. The magnetic rock display at Romancing The Stone holds my attention like a tard at a puppet show.

So there's a few. There are scads more.

Well...I better shut this down. The night owl still isn't sleeping (it's after 2am now) and it could be these loud keys that are holding up the show, plus I've promised to sew up one of my little girl's toys tonight before I turn in. She's the "bad guy" dolly, the boyfriend stealer, and thus has been contorted so much (getting her ass beaten by Barbie) that her neck burst open and her fluff's coming out. I gots to sew like Maw Ingalls to ensure her presence for future butt-kickery.

Hope you enjoyed my ramble fiesta, and may your sunsets be fat and pink. Like Perez Hilton.


free hit counter

8 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!