Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-08-03 - 4:45 p.m.

WHAT'S THAT SMELL?

I don't think pot roast is a very good Weight Watchers choice, but lo, pot roast just keeps happening. There's one simmering on the stove right now, bubbling it's way to falling-apart-tender perfection. I've just popped in there and added carrots, cute little egg-sized, red-skinned new potatoes, and a big ole Vidalia onion. The human garbage disposal (my son, almost 13) isn't even home to relieve me of this slow-cooked burden. My little girl's friend is here playing, but the two of them weigh 85 lbs. combined. They're gonna be no help at all. It's figna be me and a roast.

*sigh*

I am a sucky dieter. The good news is, I've lost a lot of weight and feel great. I can hide most of what's wrong with me with my clothes, and that's a great thing. It's naked that I worry about...but I digress.

The bad news is, I'm tired of adhering to my program, obviously, as I have continually fallen short of it's very-effective-when-properly-employed glory for about 3 months now. I'm stalled on the scales at a number I'm tired of seeing, but holy lord, can I cook a roast. And blueberry muffins. And etouffee. And chocolate chip cookies. (Okay, that last one only really required heating, and doesn't really qualify as a "thing that I cooked"...but I sho enough ate the hell out of them.)


Luckily, these spates of domestic charm only happen on the weekend. I always begin the week religiously adhering to my plan (which, really, isn't difficult, Weightwatchers is easy)but by the weekend, usually on Saturday...I just snap. One minute I'm well in control and proud, the next I'm holding a carton of BlueBell Homemade Vanilla and mumbling "Fuck it." around the spoon, which really sounds funny because you canNOT get a solid "f" sound with a spoon in your mouth.

My kid just came in and said the aroma is driving she and Tatumhole crazy, and 'can they please get some food around here'. Sheesh.

Maybe I should just buy the muumuu.


free hit counter

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!